Going to Talk about Politics Today

November 6, 2012


I’m not going to wax lyrical about the civic pride of standing in line, smiling at others, filling in my ballot, getting it scanned and that moment when the screen says

YOUR BALLOT HAS BEEN COUNTED

Pride? Meh.

 

I will also not be talking about how we should be mindful of what a privilege it is to vote. How people fought and died and were tortured for the right to be heard. I won’t show you pictures of the sufferagettes like this 

Image

 

Yawn.

or like this

Image

 

Blah, Blah, tortured, blah, blah, blah.

I won’t describe how it felt to stand in line in Johannesburg, South Africa on April 27, 1994 surrounded by a people who had never been allowed to vote before, nor their parents, grand parents or great parents. How they wept, how they stood for the whole day, how they bought new clothes just for the privilege and honor and right as equal citizens of the country to vote and be heard.

Image

because lines are the worst aren’t they…

Image

freedom, shreedom

Image

 

Politicians. Ugh. 

No, we’ve all heard enough about this. Enough!

Finally I’m not going to breathe a word about how proud I am of my sister Liz Jaff who has acted as deputy director for GOTV of Columbus, Ohio. Why she worked night and day, tirelessly and with passion and grace and dedication and fire I’ll never know. I mean it doesn’t really matter anyway right? 

Image

could be this

Image

or this.

Whatevs.

 Let’s talk about men instead. 

 I like mine dark, tall, handsome, driven, ambitious, smart, world leaderish…

know where I could find one for about say, another four years? 

Much better than politics right? 

Thought so. 

 

Leave a Reply

